‘Locals’ among 94 named to state boards, commissions, authorities

A Superior Court Judge from Gainesville and the retired head of The Arts Council in Gainesville are among the Gainesville area residents included in the latest list of appointments to state boards, commissions and authorities by Gov. Brian Kemp

Judge Lindsay Burton, a Superior Court Judge for the Gainesville-based Northeastern Judicial Circuit and Anna Thomas, a Special Victims Forensic Specialist and manager of the Division of Aging Services and GBI CADE Taskforce, were named to the State Commission on Family Violence. While she is not a resident of Gainesville, Thomas is a graduate of the city’s Brenau University.

Clarkesville’s Charlie Fiveash, Executive Director of Partnership Habersham, was appointed to the State Board of the Technical College System of Georgia

Gladys Wyant, who served as Executive Director of The Arts Council in Gainesville for 38 years, was named chairperson of the Georgia Council for the Arts.

Though he does not live in the immediate Gainesville-Hall County area, a new member of the Sexual Offender Risk Review Board is James Chafin, an Assistant District Attorney for the neighboring Piedmont Judicial Circuit which includes Banks, Barrow and Jackson counties.

Dahlonega resident Rhonda Bennett was appointed to the Council on American Indian Concerns. Bennett is the Council Chair of the Georgia Tribe of Eastern Cherokee.