The drought is just about ‘toast’

The drought that has plagued Georgia, mainly the northern part of the state, continued to wane this past week – and is now limited to four counties in northwest Georgia: Whitfield, Catoosa, Walker, and Dade. And of those four, Catoosa is the only one where the whole county is affected, according to the U.S. Drought Monitor (USDM).

The number this week is down by eight from what it was a week ago. For several weeks, the drought held on in 10-12 counties bordering Tennessee and North Carolina, from northeast to northwest Georgia.

USDM data this week show