7 honored as Masters of Teaching

Brenau University honored seven North Georgia educators Thursday with the Masters in Teaching award.

The Masters in Teaching award is an annual event that celebrates local educators for their dedication to all areas of education in the Gainesville-Hall County community. The award is a partnership between Featherbone Communiversity and Brenau, and is part of a series of awards to recognize local talent and leadership.

Christy Todd, 2024 Georgia Teacher of the Year, was the guest speaker. She is a music technology teacher from Fayette County and one of four finalists for National Teacher of the Year.

Todd compared teaching to social media influencing, a popular profession among Generation Z. Born between 1996 and the early 2010s, the majority of Gen Z, or “Zoomers,” are school-aged.

“Teachers are the ultimate influencers,” Todd said. “Teachers change the future when we help students see their potential.”

These seven educators were named Masters in Teaching for 2024:

  • Kerry Caron, Lanier Technical College
  • Chassie Corbin, Lakeview Academy
  • Donna Cherveny, Brenau University
  • Andy Jobson, Riverside Preparatory Academy
  • Steven McIntyre, Chestatee High School
  • Hannah Reaume, Gainesville Middle School East
  • Lorraine Villarin, University of North Georgia

Additionally, students from Gainesville and East Hall high schools who took part in the Featherbone Communiversity program were acknowledged for their participation.